March 3, 2014

New Netflix Phishing Scam Tricks You Into Calling Fake “Tech Support”

If the screen below has ever popped up as you were supposedly logging into Netflix, we’ve got some bad news for you. No, it’s not your Netflix account—that’s perfectly safe (at least for now). But if you followed the instructions on the screen, you’ve been duped by a new phishing scheme that seems so painfully obvious, it’s almost brilliant.

Jérôme Segura of Malwarebytes Unpacked was the first to uncover the dastardly little trick.